Important information:

As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

Hello Login

Select a Region


Help us spread the word about Kiwi House Swap and stay up to date with new property listings and special offers.
Play video
Short video about Kiwi House Swap and people's experiences using the site and with house swapping.

What a great idea! I was about to spend a fortune on a hotel for my partner and I to go to Wellington for a wedding, but found a fantastic house swap opportunity on the site. Easy peasy. No problems...

New Plymouth, Taranaki





Max People


Car Available

Pets Possilbe

Property ID: 4554

Property type and description
House - Main residence

Location notes

  • Coastal
  • Short drive to the beach
  • Short drive to a river
  • Short drive to a lake
  • Short drive to snow fields
  • In a small village / town
  • Short drive to a golf course

Swap parties allowed at this property

  • Singles
  • Couples
  • Couples - Retired
  • Families

Swap periods available

  • School Holidays
  • Easter
  • Summer Holidays
  • Public Holidays

Nearest Town / City
New Plymouth

Nearest Airport
New Plymouth
13 KM

The location shown on this map is an approximate location, not the actual address of the property.

About us

Member ID: 23661

Hi, we’re Matt and Dawn and we’re originally from Adelaide, South Australia but moved to New Plymouth almost 5 years ago for Matt’s job. Our children are aged 17, 16, 12 and 8 and we will all be just as respectful of your house as we are of our own. We are home owners in New Plymouth and have a dog, two cats and chickens and ducks. In the past we ran a very successful Airbnb in Hahndorf, SA and we have also pet/house sat here in NZ as well and can provide references from these. We all have different hobbies that we enjoy including mountain biking, scootering, golf, tramping, beaches, shopping, theatre... so we’re open to various locations.

Property description and facilities

We live in the beautiful suburb of Merrilands in New Plymouth. Our house is two-story and is tucked back in a quiet secluded section surrounded by gardens. Our section is just under 3000m2 and it is our own little piece of Taradise. We have a deck that runs the length of the house which overlooks the lower level of our garden and it’s beautiful to sit out and enjoy the birds and be surrounded by nature. We have ducks and chickens that live at the bottom of our garden and are fully fenced so they can free range on that part of the section. We also have a small dog and two cats. These will all need to be fed twice a day throughout your stay and our dog put our to the toilet morning and night, but apart from that you don’t need to do anything else with the animals. They’re all very easy-care and our dog is very placid. From our house it’s just a short drive to the beach where you can surf/kite-surf/paddleboard or swim or just enjoy strolling on the black sand. It’s also only a short drive to the main street, beautiful Pukekura Park, mountain bike tracks at Lake Mangamahoe, several golf courses, Tupare Gardens and much more. It is about a 25-35minute drive to the visitors centres at Mt Taranaki (depending on which side of the mountain you head to). The ski field on Mt Taranaki is probably another 30-40 minute walk from the carpark but sometimes the snow comes down low enough to toboggan near the carpark at the visitors centres. At the bottom of our street there is a path that follows the Te Henui river and leads all the way to the beach and coastal walkway. It’s about a 45 minute walk or a 15 minute bike down this path to the beach and you can then head either direction along the coastal walkway which is a 12.7km walk/biking path that follows the coastline. This is fantastic as it means you can bike with kids without the worry of being on the road. New Plymouth has some fantastic events throughout the year including the Festival of Lights in December and January, Americarna car show in February and WOMAD in March.

Please be aware that our house is not toddler friendly as there are quite wide gaps between the ballustrade at the top of the stairs as well as along the edge of the deck. There are also outward opening windows upstairs. If you have any questions regarding this or would like more photos we would be happy to provide them.

  • Bath
  • BBQ
  • Deck / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Dryer
  • Firewood available
  • Freeview
  • Games console
  • Hifi / Music System
  • Indoor Shower
  • Insulated house
  • Internet
  • Mains water
  • Microwave
  • Mobile Coverage
  • Outdoor grassed area
  • Spa / Hot tub
  • TV
  • Vegetable garden
  • Washing Machine
  • Wifi
  • Wood burner

Location description and facilities

See previous description

Facilities close by:

  • Art gallery
  • Beach
  • Biking
  • Boat ramp
  • Boating
  • Boogie Boarding
  • Bush Walking
  • Cafes
  • Canoeing
  • Cinema
  • Fishing
  • Golf
  • Gym
  • Hiking
  • Historical sites
  • Horseriding
  • Jet skiing
  • Kids playground
  • Lakes
  • Lawn bowling
  • Museum
  • Paddle boarding
  • Parks - Local or regional
  • Playing fields
  • Public library
  • Public swimming pool
  • Public transport
  • Pubs
  • Restaurants
  • River
  • Rock pools
  • Sailing
  • Scuba diving
  • Shopping
  • Skate park
  • Snorkelling
  • Snow skiing
  • Snowfields
  • Surf lessons
  • Surfing
  • Swimming beach
  • Tennis
  • Ten-pin bowling
  • Theatre
  • Thermal pools
  • Water slides
  • Weekend farmers markets
  • Zoo

Pets to care for at this property

There may be pets to care for on this property.

One small dog (very placid), two cats, ducks and chickens - all easy care - they all just need to have fresh water and food twice a day.

Enquire about swapping with this property